More BAOR

Armor and infantry of 1st Armored Division on the move

Armor and infantry of 1st Armored Division on the move

This past week I was able to paint a bit in the evening as well as work on terrain bits. Despite a busy schedule, I felt I got a respectable start to my BAOR troops. For my Brits, I was able to complete many of my battalion stands based on the 1st Armored Division… with enough flexibility to be any of the other divisions with some tweaking. I am very pleased with what I was able to accomplish, but did question my sanity in trying to do British camo… on infantry. But, I thought it was still worth a try.

I also need to kick terrain making into overdrive as my battlefield will otherwise be rather sparse. I think once I get a more substantial amount of terrain features I will be happy with the overall effect of my grid terrain. I am finally getting excited about the direction of this project and hope to test the rules with the BAOR revisions soon.

Units move through terrain

Units move through terrain

Infantry close up... Please tell me you see the camo and you think it looks really nice

Infantry close up… Please tell me you see the camo and you think it looks really nice

My grid with terrain... spartan for now

My grid with terrain… spartan for now

Another close up

Another close up

 

 

 

4 responses to “More BAOR

  1. They’re all very nice figures. I’m also doing some 3mm bits and am trying to get the basing techniques to look right with the scale, what material did you use to base yours?

    • Daniel,

      My base is a poker chip. I ended up choosing this as I just did not want rectangles and the poker chip is easy to pick up. Everything else is Woodland Scenics. I am using their sheets of grass (I like the lighter and brighter Spring Grass). I scrape areas off and paint as dirt and mud and track marks. For infantry based I use the fine Burnt Grass flock that looks best with the Spring Grass base. This works well for me as I use the larger rolls of grass for my game board.

Leave a comment