A little landscaping

As I have gotten older my wargaming has moved away from measured movement and firing to hexes… or in my simplified format now… offset grids. My current gaming project is, in fact, a board game that is being exported into miniatures format… Corps Command: Dawn’s Early Light.

In a traditional miniatures wargame one can craft rather natural and beautiful looking terrain. Hex terrain can look… well, modular… Or at least very hex-y. Offset grids have similar limitations that I would like to overcome. So as I started thinking about my terrain I wanted to keep in mind that I desired more ‘normal’ looking landscape features. Even though I am working with a grid, I want to add many of the irregular features found in a rolling countryside. I have collected various shades of green grass mats to break up the monotony of the singularly plain green grass I have seen in many games. For plowed fields I found a corrugated paper at my local crafts store. The only thing so far that I am doing that is not completely natural is the dreaded hill. Logistically, I have had to make some trade offs and had to go with the hard-edged step hill. But even with this I think the direction I am going in has promise.

Let me know what you think, and I am always open to suggestions.

Here are a few of the terrain features I have been working on

Here are a few of the terrain features I have been working on

My hill... Not bad considering my needs

My hill… Not bad considering my needs

 

 

Leave a comment